Further Introductions

So- Yesterday I officially decided to try and get this blog off the ground. I shared my seminary application letter. Today I figured I would share a bit more about me for everyone. I am thinking that my hope will be to blog at least 2 regular times a week- I am leaning monday and thursday. Anyways- my about me for today:

My name is Em Kelley (I sometimes spell it M…and recently people have begun to ask me what Em stands for….hmm…). I am a 26 year old Transgender Woman. I am currently a youth pastor at a UCC Church. It is quite possible that I am the first transgender youth pastor. I also work in retail, where I am heavily involved in training new hires. It is actually quite rewarding. I just transitioned to working as female at both of my jobs in January 2015. However, I first started coming out in 2008. It has been a long and strange journey, but I finally truly feel on the path to figuring myself out.

In 2008 I also began dating the person who is now my lovely wife. She has been a tireless supporter and encourager for me, and together we have faced the daunting task of figuring out how to best live my most authentic life. She is amazing. Together we have a wonderful son, who just turned 15 months. He is the light of each and every day and I do not know what I would do without him.

I am going to be attending Chicago Theological Seminary in the fall. I am very excited about that. I will be pursuing my M Div online, while also beginning the process for seeking ordination in the UCC. I feel that God has called me to be a pastor of a congregation some day in the future.

I am currently in the midst of laying out my plans for 2015 and how I hope to achieve some level of control in life.

I absolutely love Yoga, and it is leading me to pursue further spiritual development that I had repressed during my years of repressing my identity.

I love many things: writing, reading, video games, being active, caring for others, binge watching television shows, and many other things that I could continue to list. I hope this blog enables me to open up myself to others, as well as share my story, which I pray gives hope to many people who have been told there are not good enough to be a person of faith.

I close today with a reflection I posted on Easter on facebook:

Once, like the disciples did during Jesus ministry , thought I had it all figured out. I had the right answers to religion. I had Jesus figured out. I knew what God wanted. The world was black and white. But in the light of the resurrection, I realized that Gods plan was so much bigger than my limited view. The world is not black and white, but rather is full of many colors. With God being so much bigger than I had previously thought. I don’t need to have all the answers. I just need to go forward believing that God will continue to guide me, and continue to bring amazing new people into my life that show me just what a beautiful world we live in, and the many ways that people encounter God. Jesus is risen, the old way is gone.

Leave a Reply

